• 2 295 Wishes Granted
  • Vancouver Island Community Abassadors








Make-A-Wish BC & Yukon has been operating on Vancouver Island for more than 36 years now. In 2018, we hit a major milestone: the island community helped us financially support EVERY wish that was granted on the island that year... and we've only grown since then! This didn’t happen by accident— we have an incredibly generous group of individuals, community groups and businesses that came together, and rallied to help support Make-A-Wish.

Together, we grant wishes to children living with critical illnesses. That’s our mission, and through that mission, we hope to reach every eligible child. Each year, the number of wishes continues to grow, as more and more people become aware of how a wish can transform lives.

The names of the people listed below - our Community Ambassadors and our Events Committee - are at the core of helping us change lives through granted wishes. We appreciate each of you and thank you for helping us to continue growing on Vancouver Island


2020 Leadership Council Members


In 2020, we established our Events Committee! 

We're grateful to this dedicated group of volunteers who help us 'steer the ship' here on Vancouver Island! This wonderful group show their support to us through their advice, strategic vision and leadership! 


2020 Chairperson:

Frank Wright
Owner, Rite Self Storage


Members at Large: 

Walter Donald ( past Chair)
President & CEO, The Executive Network Inc. 
Bruce Hallsor
Managing Partner, Crease Harman
Jack Knox
Columnist, Victoria Times Colonist and Author
 Cheryl Westgard
(past) Vice President, Vancouver Island District, Scotiabank
Shannon Baillie
HR Consultant – past Chair, CNIB Eye Appeal
Justin Young
Owner, Canadian Tire (Hillside and Gordon Head Auto Centre)
Ron Dunlop
Owner Hardware Building Supply
Peter Laughlin
Director, Vancouver Island, OMICRON
Bob Plecas
Retired Deputy Minister, small businessman, writer, political pundit and world traveller  



This committee takes the lead on our island events such as Fashion For A Wish and UnWined. With their diverse skills and talents, we look forward to their support with our future events! 

  • Georgia Hickson
  • Melissa Berry
  • Kam Hogan
  • Jessica Derrick  
  • Toni Fech
  • Lynne Taylor
  • Philip Bisset-Covaneiro
  • Liana Scigliano
  • Ryan Tutte
  • Katie Hamilton
  • Julia Coley
  • Colleen Kelly
  • Kam Hogan